Military News

Wednesday, December 02, 2015

NORAD Celebrates 60 Years Tracking Santa



From a North American Aerospace Defense Command News Release

PETERSON AIR FORCE BASE, Colo., December 1, 2015 — The North American Aerospace Defense Command is celebrating the 60th anniversary of tracking Santa’s Yuletide journey.

The NORAD Tracks Santa website, which launched today, features Santa’s North Pole Village, which includes a holiday countdown, games, activities, and more.

The website is available in eight languages: English, French, Spanish, German, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese and Chinese.

Official NORAD Tracks Santa apps also are available in the Windows, Apple and Google Play stores, so parents and children can count down the days until Santa’s launch on their smartphones and tablets. Tracking opportunities also are offered on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, and Google Plus. Santa followers simply need to type “@noradsanta” into each search engine to get started.

This year, the website features the NORAD headquarters in the North Pole Village and highlights of the program over the past 60 years.

Tracking Santa’s Flight

Starting at 12:01 a.m. MST (2:01 a.m. EST) Dec. 24, website visitors can watch Santa make preparations for his flight. NORAD’s “Santa Cams” will stream videos on the website as Santa makes his way over various locations. Then, at 4 a.m. MST (6 a.m. EST), trackers worldwide can speak with a live phone operator to inquire as to Santa’s whereabouts by dialing the toll-free number 1-877-Hi-NORAD (1-877-446-6723) or by sending an email to noradtrackssanta@outlook.com.

Any time on Dec. 24, Windows Phone users can ask Cortana for Santa’s location, and OnStar subscribers can press the OnStar button in their vehicles to locate Santa.

NORAD Tracks Santa is possible, in large part, to the efforts and services of numerous program contributors, NORAD officials said.

No comments: